Coming with family tradition, Sydney’s Jenny Morris was awarded an OAM on the King’s Birthday honours roll. We missed her. We found her.

Jennifer Lea Morris, Roseville NSW 2069

Jenny Morris

For service to women through leadership and mentoring roles.

Women for Election (Australia)
  •        Emeritus Chair, since 2021.
  •        Former Chair.
  •        Founder, 2014.
Women and Leadership
  •        Board Member, Women’s Indigenous Network, 2014-2015.
  •        Co-Chair and Executive Council Member, NSW Equal Employment Opportunity Practitioners Association (NEEOPA – now The Inclusion Circle), 2006-2010.
  •        Founder and Chief Executive Officer, Orijen Group, since 2000.
  •        Facilitator, Women in IT Executive Mentoring (WITEM) Coaching Circles, DELL, since 2012.
  •       Chair, NSW Volunteer Council, National Association for Prevention of Child Abuse and Neglect (NAPCAN), 2007-2009.
  •       Former Teacher and School Counsellor.
Awards and Recognition include:
  •        Westpac/AFR 100 Women of Influence, 2014.

In accepting this honour, Jenny Morris expressed her gratitude and shared her joy upon receiving the award. “I am deeply honoured to receive the Order of Australia Medal. This recognition is not just a reflection of my work but also of the incredible support and trust I have received from so many wonderful people throughout my career. I want to extend my heartfelt thanks to everyone I have had the privilege to work with. Your trust and collaboration have been instrumental in achieving this milestone.”

In a remarkable family achievement, Jenny Morris is one of five grandchildren of the late Solomon Morris to receive this esteemed honour. Alongside Jenny, her brother and three cousins[1] have also been awarded the Order of Australia Medal, making a total of five recipients within the same family – a feat that is believed to be a record.

Jenny also took a moment to reflect on her family’s legacy and the significance of their collective achievements. “It is incredibly humbling to know that I have joined my cousins and brother in receiving this award. Our grandfather passed away before any of us had the chance to know him, but his spirit and values clearly live on through the accomplishments of his grandchildren. This is a proud moment for our entire family.”

She joins family members Robyn Lenn OAM 2005, Dianne Hirsch OAM 2009, , Jeanette Tsoulos OAM 2023, Michael Morris OAM 2023.


Originally published on J-Wire, 14 June  2024.